FPA 2023 Excellence in Fusion Engineering Award to Stephanie Diem

August 12, 2023

FPA Excellence in Fusion Engineering Awards have been given annually since 1987, in memory of MIT Professor David J. Rose, to recognize persons in the relatively early part of their careers who have shown both technical accomplishment and potential to become exceptionally influential leaders in the fusion field.

The 2023 Excellence in Fusion Engineering Award will be presented to Stephanie Diem (University of Wisconsin).

Stephanie Diem is recognized for the breadth of her scientific contributions including, but not limited, to her work on RF wave heating and current drive, addressing the important issue of the potential of non-solenoid startup of spherical torus fusion devices, and for her extensive participation and leadership in many community policy and planning activities including, but not limited to, the Early Career Fusion Scientists group, the leadership she is providing to many graduate students at the University of Wisconsin, and to the important Pegasus-III project.

It is planned to present the awards at Fusion Power Associates 44th annual meeting December 19-20 in Washington, DC. A list of previous recipients and information on the annual meeting are posted at https://fusionpower.org.