FPA 2021 Leadership Awards

July 7, 2021

Fusion Power Associates (FPA) Board of Directors has selected Radha Bahukutumbi of the University of Rochester Laboratory for Laser Energetics and Troy Carter of UCLA to receive its 2021 Leadership Awards. The awards will be presented at Fusion Power Associates 42nd Annual Meeting and Symposium, December 15-16, in Washington, DC.

In selecting Radha the FPA Board recognizes her decades of outstanding contributions to the direct-drive physics program on OMEGA and the National Ignition Facility. The Board also especially notes that she has been a vocal, early leader and champion for young scientists and students with an emphasis on women and under-represented minorities.

In selecting Troy the FPA Board recognizes his many scientific contributions and leadership at UCLA and his extensive record of service to the fusion community at large as a member of numerous advisory committees. The Board especially notes his recent chairmanship of the FESAC subcommittee to develop the long-range planning report "Powering the Future: Fusion & Plasmas."

FPA Leadership Awards have been given annually since 1980 to recognize persons who have shown outstanding leadership qualities in accelerating the development of fusion as a commercial power source. A list of previous recipients can be found at http://fusionpower.org and click on Awards.

Radha can be reached at radha@lle.rochester.edu
Troy can be reached at tcarter@physics.ucla.edu