FPA Annual Meeting Scheduled December 15-16

April 29, 2021

Fusion Power Associates 42nd Annual Meeting and Symposium is scheduled for December 15-16, 2021. The theme of this year's meeting is Pathways to Fusion Power.

Covid restrictions permitting, the meeting will be held in-person at the Grand Hyatt Washington hotel. Otherwise the meeting will be in either virtual or hybrid format. A decision on that will be made by late Summer. Because of the format uncertainty, registration is not yet open. Updates on registration will be posted on the FPA web site: https://fusionpower.org and click on Annual Meeting, Agenda and Registration.

The current Preliminary Agenda is as follows (some talks may be presented remotely):

Wednesday December 15

7:30 AM Registration
8:00 Welcome - Tony Taylor, Chair, FPA Board
8:10 Presentation of Awards - Stephen O. Dean, President, FPA
8:30 Keynote Address - Speaker TBD
9:00 World Perspectives
Tony Donne - EU (Confirmed)
Kenichi Kurihara - Japan (Confirmed)
Suk Jae Yoo - Korea (Confirmed)
Yican Wu - China (Confirmed)
10:15 Break
10:45 James Van Dam - US FES (Confirmed)
Njema Frazier - NNSA (Probable)
11;30 Lunch
1:00 Planning
Troy Carter - FESAC Strategic Plan Report (Confirmed)
Richard Hawryluk - NASEM Pilot Plant Report (Confirmed)
Ian Chapman - UKAEA STEP Program (Confirmed)
William Reckley - NRC Licensing and Regulation
David Hammer - Jason Report
2:30 US Magnetic Confinement
Tony Taylor/Richard Buttery - General Atomics (Confirmed)
Steven Cowley - PPPL (Confirmed)
Mickey Wade - ORNL (Confirmed)
Dennis Whyte - MIT PSFC (Confirmed)
3:45 Break
4:15 US Inertial Confinement
E. Michael Campbell - U. Rochester LLE (Confirmed)
Tammy Ma - LLNL (Confirmed)
Daniel Sinars - Sandia (Confirmed)
Stephen Obenschain - NRL (Confirmed)
Michael Farrell - GA (Confirmed)
6:00 Reception followed by Board of Directors Meeting

Thursday December 16

8:00 AM ITER
Bernard Bigot - ITER (Confirmed)
Kathryn McCarthy - US ITER (Confirmed)
8:30 Stellarator Pathways
Thomas Sunn Pedersen - MPI (Confirmed)
Nagato Yanagi - NIFS Japan (Confirmed0
Michael Zarnstorff - PPPL (Confirmed)
9:00 ARPA-E Perspectives
Scott Hsu - ARPA-E (Confirmed)
9:15 Private Sector and Partnerships
Michl Binderbauer - TAE (Confirmed)
Jonathan Carling (Confirmed)/David Kingham - Tokamak Energy
Christofer Mowry - General Fusion (Confirmed)
Bob Mumgaard - Commonwealth Fusion Systems
10:30 Break
11:00 Brian Nelson - Zap Energy (Confirmed)
11:15 Hafiz Rahman - MIFTI (Confirmed)
11:30 Lunch
1:00 Adam Rosenberg (Confirmed) and Hilary O'Brien (Confirmed)
Energy Subcommittee, House Science, Space and Technology Committee
1:30 Perspectives
Mohamed Abdou - UCLA (Probable)
David Babineau - SRNL (Confirmed)
Farhat Beg - UCSD (Confirmed)
Siegfried Glenzer - SLAC (Confirmed)
John Kline - LANL (Confirmed)
Harry McLean - LLNL (Confirmed)
4:00 Adjourn